Primary reference source
Most Kalo food-reference pages currently present Kalo nutrition estimates without verified record-level citations. Four pilot pages identify a checkedUSDA FoodData Central record. Earlier IDs were removed after review found that several did not match the displayed food or preparation state. A citation is restored only after the source description, preparation, portions, nutrient units, derivation status, and displayed values reconcile with the cited record.
Reported, derived, and unavailable values
FoodData Central distinguishes reported values, calculated or imputed values, assumed zeros, and unavailable nutrients. Kalo preserves those distinctions in a source record. An absent source value is shown as "Not reported," not as zero. Unsaturated fat on a source-checked pilot page is derived by adding the source's monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fat values; it is not a separately reported USDA nutrient.
Vitamin A is stored in micrograms RAE, vitamin C in milligrams, and vitamin D in micrograms. Percent Daily Value is calculated only for display using current FDA reference values, including 900 micrograms RAE for vitamin A, 90 milligrams for vitamin C, and 20 micrograms for vitamin D. Source amounts are not relabeled as percentages.
Single foods and composite meals
A single-food page can describe one source item at a stated amount. A meal page can combine several ingredients, each with its own quantity and preparation state. A composite meal therefore may not have one FoodData Central ID that represents the full plate.
A traceable composite calculation should identify each ingredient source, the grams used, whether the item is raw or cooked, and how the components produce the displayed total. Until that information is visible on a particular page, its values should be treated as approximate meal estimates rather than a direct USDA record.
Serving sizes and rounding
Food pages can show values per 100 grams and for named servings. Real portions vary, and household descriptions such as a bowl, plate, cup, or piece are not universal measurements. Displayed decimals do not make an estimate exact.
For a source-checked single food, Kalo scales the unrounded per-100g value by serving grams and rounds only the displayed result: calories and most milligram nutrients to whole numbers, and gram nutrients, iron, vitamin C, and vitamin D to one decimal place. A portion not reported by USDA is identified in the source-checked food page as Kalo-derived. Composite meal calories and nutrient totals are checked together so that charts and tables do not contradict the stored components.
Preparation, brands, and substitutions
Cooking method, water loss, added oil, sauces, edible portion, brand formulation, and ingredient swaps can materially change nutrition. A page cannot account for every recipe. Use a package label, recipe calculation, or measured portion when it is more specific than the reference page.
Nutrition facts versus health interpretation
A nutrient value does not by itself establish that a food is best for weight loss, blood sugar, medication tolerance, or another individual goal. Those conclusions require additional context and, for clinical or medication-related claims, review by an appropriately qualified professional.
Updates and corrections
A food page's updated date should change when its source, serving, calculation, or visible explanation changes materially. If you find a mismatch, please report it with the page URL and the values that appear inconsistent.